In the spotlight: A series of unfortunate events

I stumbled upon this show because my news feed was overflowing with articles about it. It triggered my interest, and since I saw that Neil Patrick Harris was playing in it, I definitely had to check it out. I was not disappointed!

About

A Series of Unfortunate Events is a tv serie based on the books series by Lemony Snicket. The series follows the 3 Baudelaire kids, Violet (14 years old), Klaus (12 years) and Sunny (still a baby), whom became orphans after their parents got killed in a fire at home. The bank places them in the care of someone who is believed to be a distant family member, his name is Count Olaf. Soon the three children find out Count Olaf is after their money. And so the adventures begin.

Thoughts

The first few minutes of the first episode I didn’t like. They’re holding a monologue saying that you should not watch, because only bad things happen and blahblabla. I was really thinking of just watching something else, because it felt like ages before they would just start the story. But I wanted to give it a descent shot and actually watch the full first episode. And I’m glad I did. The show is really silly, but in a good way. It’s entertaining and enjoyable.

The thing about this show is that you can’t just watch one episode, you have to at least watch 2 episodes. The show tries to stay very close to the books, this is why one book is filmed in two episodes. (An episode is 42-64 minutes long) Which means that when you start watching you’ll at least want to see the whole story (or book), you’ll want to know how it ends. But then after the little story ends, you’ll want to know what other unfortunate event will happen to the Baudelaire children. In other words you can watch the first season in a day if you like to binge-watch.

Anyways, I’m sad that I already finished the first season but if I may believe Wikipedia, then there will be 2 more seasons. So that is something to look forward to. What about you? Have you watched the series already? Or did you saw the movie or read the books? Let me know!

Now go watch the show via netflix

Source featured image: Wikipedia

Leave a Reply

